The 7 villages


Baudour has traces of the Palaeolithic era, of the Gauls and the Roman period. There are other distinctive features in the village: the Maison de Ligne and its castle which in the past used to be located in the park, the porcelain industry, as well as the exploitation of the ferruginous mineral source, discovered in the 18th century. Baudour wood spans 324 ha and is ideal for rambles and walking.


A neo-gothic Church, a convent for Franciscan nuns, a 19th century bandstand and a town square surrounded by linden trees all enhance the rural nature of Hautrage. The wealth of the land rich in coal contributed to its development. Coal was exploited from the 13th century, as well as sand and plastics which were for refractory businesses.
Blood was spilled on many occasions. On 17 July 1572, during a battle between the French and Spanish, at the Champ de l’Alouette resulting in 2,200 deaths. And again, in September 1914, as well as during the Second World War, when not far from here many English and German soldiers met their deaths.


Following the clearing of the old coal forest from the middle ages, the "neuves maisons" – or new houses – were to give rise to the primarily agricultural village of Neufmaison. Still today, at the foot of the 18th century steeple, there are some lovely farms with the traditional square and rectangular yards, with a dovecote tower. The Cortège des Manous and the Saint-Charalampe cult – protector of herds – today remind us of the primary vocation of this now residential village.


The town of Saint-Ghislain owes its name to Ghislain, an Athenian monk who, as the legend goes, was guided by a bear and an eagle and constructed an abbey on the land offered by the good King Dagobert.
The town took root within the shadow of the abbey and survived sieges, fires and epidemics sometimes faring better than others.
The revolution marked the downfall of the feudal reign and, with it the power of the monks. The abbey disappeared along with the primary source of wealth for the town. However, prosperity was to return following the creation of the Nimy-Blaton canal and the inauguration of the railway between Mons and Quiévrain.
Although the town was spared by the ravages of the First World War, on 1 May 1944, allied planes bombed Saint-Ghislain so as to destroy the marshalling yard. As a result, 50% of the town was destroyed. The old Church tower still stands in the heart of the rebuilt town as a memory of the tragedy.


Saltus Cerasea – or the village in the cherry orchard – was already known to the Romans who discovered the clay in the land when constructing the roads linking Condé-Chièvres and Bavay-Gand. Tombs, money, urns and the famous "tergulaë" – rectangular tiles – were unearthed. It was almost certainly the Romans who built the first pannerie in Sirault.
Tileries or panneries – which have today disappeared – represented the largest industry in the area. In 1833, they numbered 18 and in 1890 this figure was doubled. The division of land due to inheritances, as well as consolidation of the land radically modified the Sirault landscape which became an agricultural village.


As a former hamlet of Badour, Tertre gained independence in 1883. The refractory industry and coal-mining were behind its demographic expansion. One of the Escoyez castles, named after the industrialist and former Mayor, is the home of the current Town Hall.


The Villerot presbytery, located within the shadow of the Church, was constructed by monks from the Saint-Ghislain abbey, in the heart of lands destined for agriculture or the refractory industry. A vast complex today hosts chemical factories.

Responsible for this website : town of Saint-Ghislain
City Council : rue de Chièvres, 17 – 7333 Saint-Ghislain (Tertre)
Phone : + 32 (0)65 76 19 00 – Fax : + 32 (0)65 76 20 00 – Mal :

Les 7 communes




BAUDOUR

Baudour nous laisse des traces du paléolithique, des Gaulois et de la période romaine. Autres traits marquants : la maison de Ligne et son château situé autrefois dans le parc, l'industrie de la porcelaine, ainsi que l'exploitation des sources minérales ferrugineuses, connues depuis le 18e siècle. Le bois de Baudour, avec ses 324 hectares accueille des randonnées pédestres.





HAUTRAGE

Une église néo-gothique, un couvent des soeurs franciscaines, un kiosque du 19e siècle, une place entourée de tilleuls, rehaussent le cadre champêtre d'Hautrage.
Les richesses du sol ont contribué à son essor : le charbon, exploité dès le 13e siècle, mais aussi, le sable et les terres plastiques destinés aux entreprises réfractaires.
Le sang fut versé à diverses reprises : le 17 juillet 1572, lors d'une bataille qui opposa les Français et les Espagnols au Champ de l'Alouette, et qui fit 2200 victimes. En septembre 1914, et durant la guerre 40-45, lorsque tombèrent, non loin de là, de nombreux soldats allemands et anglais.





NEUFMAISON

Les "neuves maisons" donneront naissance, suite au défrichement moyenâgeux de la vieille forêt charbonnière, au village essentiellement agricole de Neufmaison. Encore aujourd'hui, au pied du clocher du 18e siècle, on peut voir quelques jolies fermes typiques à cours carrées ou rectangulaires, souvent ornées d'une tour colombier. Le Cortège des Manous et le culte de Saint-Charalampe, protecteur du bétail, nous rappellent la vocation première de ce village devenu aujourd'hui résidentiel.


SAINT-GHISLAIN

La Ville de Saint-Ghislain doit son nom à Ghislain, un moine athénien, qui, selon la légende, guidé par une ourse et un aigle, érige une abbaye sur la terre offerte par le bon Roi Dagobert.
La ville grandit à l'ombre de l'abbaye et traverse sièges, incendies et épidémies avec plus ou moins de bonheur.
La révolution abolit l'ordre féodal et avec lui le pouvoir des moines. L'abbaye disparaît et avec elle la principale source de richesse de la ville. La prospérité revient avec le percement du canal Nimy-Blaton et l'inauguration du chemin de fer entre Mons et Quiévrain.
Si la première guerre épargne la cité, le 1er mai 1944, l'aviation alliée bombarde Saint-Ghislain avec pour objectif la gare de triage. Bilan : la ville est sinistrée à 50%. La tour de l'ancienne église se dresse encore au coeur de la ville reconstruite, pour témoigner de la tragédie.


SIRAULT

Saltus Cerasea -ou le village dans la cerisaie- était déjà connu des Romains qui découvrirent la terre glaise en construisant les embranchements des grands axes Condé-Chièvres et Bavay-Gand. On y mit à jour des tombes, des monnaies, des urnes, ainsi que la fameuse "tergulaë", tuile rectangulaire.
Les Romains créèrent sûrement la première pannerie à Sirault.
Les tuileries ou panneries, aujourd'hui disparues, étaient l'industrie la plus importante du lieu. On en comptait 18 en 1833, et 36 en 1890. Les morcellements dus aux héritages, et le remembrement modifièrent totalement le paysage de Sirault, devenu village agricole.





TERTRE


Ancien hameau de Baudour, Tertre gagna son autonomie en 1883. L'industrie réfractaire et le charbonnage sont à la base de son expansion démographique. L'un des châteaux Escoyez, du nom de l'industriel et ancien Bourgmestre, abrite l'actuel Hôtel de Ville.






VILLEROT

Le presbytère de Villerot, situé à l'ombre de l'église, fut élevé par les religieux de l'abbaye de Saint-Ghislain, au milieu des terres destinées à l'agriculture ou à l'industrie réfractaire. Un vaste complexe rassemble aujourd'hui des usines chimiques.




Mise en service : 05/6/1999 - Dernière mise à jour : 22/12/2017
Editeur responsable: Collège communal de la Ville de Saint-Ghislain
Administration Communale - Rue de Chièvres 17 - 7333 Saint-Ghislain (Tertre)
Téléphone : +32(0)65 76 19 00 - Fax : +32(0)65 76 20 00 - Courriel : info@saint-ghislain.be